Privacy settings

This website protects your privacy by adhering to the European Union General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). We will not use your data for any purpose that you do not consent to and only to the extent not exceeding data which is necessary in relation to a specific purpose(s) of processing. You can grant your consent(s) to use your data for specific purposes below or by clicking “Agree to all”.



05 Jul 2024, 17:00 (CEST)

For whom

Climate journalists




Climate Journalism Award 2024


Climate Journalism Award 2024

applications closed

The Award promotes innovative and creative storytelling that highlights the fight against climate change and values high-quality reporting on climate and environmental issues.

The Award is returning for its second edition and will grant a prize of €2,400 per each of five distinct categories. Investigating political pressure, disinformation, and greenwashing are key tasks for journalists and media professionals in fighting threats to climate action. This Award offers the chance to honour their important efforts.

The Award ceremony will take place at the News Impact Summit in Copenhagen on 10 October 2024. The Award is managed by the European Journalism Centre in partnership with the Google News Initiative.

The Call is open from 5 June, and ends on 5 July, at 17:00 CEST. Each project must fit in one of the five following categories:

  • Data-driven visualisation: data-driven approaches that report on climate change, effectively visualising complex climate narratives.
  • Fighting climate misinformation Climate stories that debunk myths and counter disinformation campaigns surrounding climate change and the climate crisis.
  • Pinpoint award for investigations: Investigative reporting that holds those in power accountable for their actions and their impact on climate change and environmental issues.
  • Storytelling & solutions: Solutions-focused storytelling methods for communicating climate change stories.
  • Emerging talent: Innovative climate reporting produced by journalists and newsrooms with less than three years of experience.

Eligibility criteria

After listening to feedback from our community and careful consideration, we have expanded the types of stories we accept. We are now also accepting multimedia, podcasts and videos if they are accompanied by a full English transcript in PDF

Journalists or teams are required to meet the following criteria:

  • The submitted piece must address one or more topics related to climate change and its effects;
  • The submitted piece must have been published in or on a European-based media outlet;
  • The submitted piece must have been published in the past 12 months (1 June 2023 - 31 May 2024);
  • The submitted piece must be in print, online, or multi-platform storytelling formats, standalone videos or podcasts need to be accompanied by a full English transcript in PDF;
  • You need to be available to travel to Copenhagen on 10 October 2024. We will cover travel and accommodation costs for up to two team members of any awarded team to attend the Award ceremony during the News Impact Summit.
  • You may submit multiple stories, but only one story per category.

Who can apply

You can submit on behalf of a collaborative team of journalists. However, if you win, we can cover accommodation and travel expenses for a maximum of two team members.

No citizenship or residency restrictions exist, as long as the project has been published in or by a European-based media outlet.

The Award is open to reporting in any language but should be accompanied by a text-only translation in English.

Powered by

Frequently asked questions

Should my story be climate focused?

Yes, your story must address one or more topics related to climate change and its effects;

Does it matter which region my story was published?

Yours tory must have been published in a European-based (Council of Europe) publication.

When is the deadline?

The deadline for applications is 05 July 2024, 17CEST. 

When should my story have been published?

Your story must have been published in the past 12 months (01 June 2023 - 05 June 2024).

What type of stories are eligible?

Print, online, video, and multi-platform storytelling formats are eligible to win an award. If you submit a video, podcast or multi-platform format, include a full English transcript in PDF. 

Newsletters are not eligible.

My story is published behind a paywall, what should I do?

That is no problem; if you are able to provide (temporary) login credentials to the jury, upload a PDF version or in case of multimedia stories a link to a version the jury can watch. These can be uploaded during the application process.

More questions? Get in touch


Receive insights, knowledge and updates on funding opportunities.
Receive our monthly update, delivered straight to your inbox.